Why Food Blogging?

I’ve thought about writing a food blog but I so often don’t have time to cook.

And, I have a lot to say about organics, humane and sustainable animal husbandry, but have not seen this as part of my “job.”

But the time has come.  It all involved trying to find a humanely raised and humanely killed non-gmo-fed chicken in Portland, Oregon.  For two weeks after realizing our local organic store wasn’t offering this as their mainstay, Mitchell (husband and partner in everything) and I researched and spoke with many farmers until I realized we had to tell this story.

So, here is my entry into the world of food blogging: it is all about that process.  I promise good recipes for people on the go, the experience of city shopping versus country shopping, heartfelt honest process articles that share the struggles of trying to do the right thing, and information about healthy eating.

If I enjoy it, it will save my facebook friends from having to read my rants!

About dkatiepowellart

hollywood baby turned beach gurl turned steel&glass city gurl turned cowgurl turned herb gurl turned green city gurl. . . artist writer photographer. . . cat lover but misses our big dogs, gone to heaven. . . buddhist and interested in the study of spiritual traditions. . . foodie, organic, lover of all things mik, partner in conservation business mpfconservation, consummate blogger, making a dream happen, insomniac who is either reading buddhist teachings or not-so-bloody mysteries or autobio journal thangs early in the morning when i can't sleep
This entry was posted in humane, organic, sustainable. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Food Blogging?

  1. Jo Grishman says:

    great Kate! It really speaks to me and my intention humane eating practices so I look forward to following your journey. Did you find a good local poultry source?

    • zenkatwrites says:

      I tried Kookoolan non-gmo non-soy non-corn (just by chance) and that was the one that tasted fishy. I have not talked to them about it, but their practices are good and they even sell at New Seasons mid week.

      We are tentatively going with Deck Family Farms. They produce year around (Kookoolan stops in November) and kill on site, humanely (drop in anytime) and so far their food tastes good. They sell right now at PSU’s farmers market. Will be writing about them soon.

  2. Jo Grishman says:

    one more thought the Weston A. Price foundation and its local chapter in Portland is a great source of information

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.