Diet Week 2b: To Hell in a Handbasket

2015 2 WEEK DIET 11Wednesday + Thursday were good days.
I am so surprised at how much food is available!  I realize my diet in my twenties was incredibly poor by comparison.
I ate a lot of hard cheese, lots of lunch meats (salami, ham, etc.) and of course potato chips, crackers, etc.  Since stepping into arthritis
I have eliminated many foods which caused me pain; and this lead me to a healthier diet.  Giving up sweets is easy, because I rarely crave them, especially with fruit in season.  It is a matter of making a different choices, and being mindful of my portions.

So far I have not been hungry and had to go without satisfaction.  Look at that meal above:  3oz of rare steak, sliced, a cup of rice, and all the veggies I wanted.  I “stir-fried” my veggies (for two) in two tablespoons of olive oil and 6 tablespoons Ginger People’s Ginger Lime Teriyaki Sauce, continually adding a bit of water when I needed a little more liquid.

Yummo!

Then Friday we had a long day with a late client meeting at the end of it.
I did that which I try hard NOT to do — become famished with no outlet.

It was then that I knew we were going to HELL IN A HANDBASKET! (Mimi’s saying . . . )

All we had in the car was a tiny bag of raw almonds, and then out to eat Chinese food!
I have no idea how many calories I racked up, though I was mindful of my portions.
I can’t stress and worry about it, however, as that leads to a whole lot of holding on and soon I am in obsession mode.  So I enjoyed it, and the leftovers the next day, and kept gradually reigning it back in.  Sunday I plan a chicken dinner and will try to drop my calories a bit to compensate for a huge day Friday, and a moderately high one Saturday.

One other thing I need to make space for is probiotics and FOS and chlorophyll
to help with issues that are springing up in our gut.  These are best taken in some sort of smoothie, and so, I can’t really miss a day.  That is about 100-175 calories.

On another front, I feel better.  I already feel lighter, and noticeably, I can get into Child’s Pose during yoga.  I don’t actually think that it is that I have dropped a bunch of belly fat, but bloating may have been at the root of my discomfort with Child’s Pose.

2015 2 WEEK DIET 15(This is an ongoing series; the overview can be found here or search for “Diet Week”.)

Always organic or non-GMO, humanely raised.  It matters!

54 1 54 9 54 12 54 10 54 3 54 11 54 2 54 6

I am now agreeing to the  Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial 4.0 International License, which you can learn more about by visiting the site, or, visit my web page for a more user-friendly summary on my terms.
My images/blog posts can be reposted; please link back to katwritesfood.
Images courtesy Dkatiepowellart. (Me too!)

About dkatiepowellart

hollywood baby turned beach gurl turned steel&glass city gurl turned cowgurl turned herb gurl turned green city gurl. . . artist writer photographer. . . cat lover but misses our big dogs, gone to heaven. . . buddhist and interested in the study of spiritual traditions. . . foodie, organic, lover of all things mik, partner in conservation business mpfconservation, consummate blogger, making a dream happen, insomniac who is either reading buddhist teachings or not-so-bloody mysteries or autobio journal thangs early in the morning when i can't sleep
This entry was posted in art journal, beef, diet, leftovers, sustainable, work dinners and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

